Partners and associates

EqUIP is a three-year Coordination and Support Action funded under the Social Sciences and Humanities programme of FP7. It is implemented by a consortium of 13 leading research support and funding agencies from Europe and India, with the European Commission acting as observer:

  • The Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), is one of seven UK Research Councils. It is a non-departmental public body and receives most of its funding through the UK’s Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS). The ESRC is the UK’s largest organisation for funding research on economic and social issues. (United Kingdom)
  • The Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) was established by the Government of India to promote research in social sciences. Through its International Collaboration Programme, the ICSSR invests significant time and energy in developing collaborative links with social scientists, social science organisations and academic institutions in India and overseas. (India)
  • The other UK Research Council, the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) is an independent non-departmental public body and has a range of UK-wide programmes that support high quality research and postgraduate training in the arts and humanities through competitive peer review. (United Kingdom)
  • The Academy of Finland (AKA) promotes scientific research and its application by awarding funding for scientific research, researcher training and the development of framework conditions for research. (Finland)
  • The Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR) is a research funding organisation. It was established by the French government in 2005 to fund research projects, based on competitive schemes giving researchers the best opportunities to realize their projects and paving the way for ground-breaking new knowledge. (France)
  • The Agenzia per la Promozione della Ricerca Europea (APRE) is a private non-profit research organization based in Italy that provides information, assistance and training for the promotion of the Italian participation in European Research and Technological Development programmes. APRE was created upon the joint initiative of the Italian Ministry of Research and the European Commission. (Italy)
  • The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) is the self-governing organisation for science and research in Germany. It serves all branches of science and the humanities. In organisational terms, the DFG is an association under private law. Its membership consists of German research universities, non-university research institutions, scientific associations and the Academies of Science and the Humanities. (Germany)
  • The DLR Project Management Agency (DLR-PT) – part of the German Aerospace Center – is a research funding organisation supporting the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi), along with other Federal Ministries, in the implementation of programme-related project funding. (Germany)
  • The Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia (FCT) is the main funding agency for research in Portugal with a status of a public body with administrative and financial autonomy, under the aegis of the Ministry of Education and Science (MEC). FCT’s mission is to promote the advancement of scientific and technological knowledge in Portugal, by exploring opportunities in any scientific or technological domain to attain the highest international standards in the creation of knowledge, to stimulate the dissemination of this knowledge and its contribution to improve education, health, the environment, and the quality of life and well-being of citizens and society. FCT funds all areas of knowledge, including Exact, Natural and Health Sciences, Engineering, Social Sciences and Humanities. (Portugal)
  • The Ministry of Education, Science and Sport (MIZS) is responsible for drawing up acts and statutory instruments in the area of research activity, setting up and developing a system for comprehensive analysis and for monitoring and development of research activity, developing new instruments for the implementation of research policy objectives, cooperating with the European Union. (Slovenia)
  • The Nederlandse Organisatie Voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO) is the national research organisation of the Netherlands. NWO promotes quality by subsidising excellent research proposal submitted by researchers, while also developing thematic activities where necessary. (Netherlands)
  • The Research Council of Norway (RCN) is a government agency responsible for awarding grants for research as well as promoting research and science. It also advises the Government in matters related to research. (Norway)
  • The Centre for Social Innovation (ZSI GmbH) is a trans-disciplinary social science research institute, founded as a registered non-profit organisation in 1990. (Austria)

Logos together

Besides these partners, EqUIP has recently welcomed three new associate partners to the platform, who will be engaged in future activities over the coming months: the Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR), the Czech Academy of Science(CAS), and the Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR). You will find here more information on their activities and membership.